top of page

4th Year BMP Evaluation

To be honest, I had absolutely no idea how my project would work out, I was going off of a whim. I wasn’t totally confident that I had figured it out after my proposal was approved and had a very hard time coming up with a clear plan that would work within the timeframe of this term.

My plan for this project was to clearly define and integrate a plan of action into our current structure and begin to enforce ministry commitments in our new recruits.

I was hoping to clearly define each step and implement systems to facilitate that by implementing a clear and easy to follow social media marketing strategy, and a plan to reach our 20, 30, 40 goals.

What I noticed for my project, is that things didn’t go as I planned because I spent 90% of my time on reaching, traveling, and recruiting in Canada.

I was only able to follow through with the 3rd & 4th step recruiting and influencing youth to join me for 7 Week in Asia, but I will not be able to follow through with the step 1 & 2 within the timeframe of this VABC school year, though I will in these next months and years. Yet, I saw a lot of fruit in focusing on the recruitment side of the “4 Steps.”

At first, I had no idea what that would look like and just couldn’t put pen to paper. I felt stuck, trapped even, but then something started to shift. Pastor Al took Alyssa and I out for coffee, and said he’d like us to help run 7 Weeks next year, and we said yes. This was just the start of what would soon become a reality.

After that meeting I couldn’t stop thinking about 7 Weeks and the responsibility that I have now been given, it was exciting. From that point on, my main focus was recruiting my friends in Ontario. I started connecting with youth from the Christian camp our church would put on every summer. I saw some interest, and began focusing more on those with the desire to make the most of their summer. By November I had recruited 2 young guys.

In between all of this I was a part of and initiated quite a few meetings to get a feel for what 7 Weeks was about, what is my role, and what we need to do to get ready. That was when we started planning a recruitment trip, the idea being that Pastor Matt or Pastor Kris would travel to Canada in mid December speaking at high schools for 4-6 weeks with a schedule organized by our administrator in Canada.

The next 2 and a half weeks were filled with a lot of hits and misses. We had someone who started the scheduling of the itinerary; Pastor Kris declined; a cover letter was made; the designing of the new magazine was started; Pastor Matt had other commitments; Our administrator couldn't follow through; the magazine was moving ahead; I committed to traveling to Canada; I took on the responsibility because I didn’t want to leave things hanging, so I took it on because it’s a need for this ministry. If I didn’t go, who would’ve? I knew no one else would and so, the future of 7 Weeks, VABC, and the whole ministry depends on someone focused on recruiting potential leaders, that someone was me.

Now the real challenge was realizing I had to schedule the itinerary, come up with the finances, and recruit as many youth that are willing to take the risk because no one else was able to schedule it. I had to organize my days, contact pastors and leaders, and schools. I didn’t leave anything hanging, I wanted to be prepared and have places to speak at.

The month before I left for Canada was one of the most stressful months I’ve experienced in my entire life. Now, I understand the weight and pressure of the future of 7 Weeks in Asia. I was also experiencing a lot of personal stress due to lack of finances and confidence in my abilities. Thoughts that were going through my mind was, “I am too young to speak to youth. What do I say and how do I present? How can I survive with no money? How can I get money to eat and travel?” As the month was passing by, the levels of stress and confusion began to rise. I had no money in Thailand, and most definitely not enough for my expenses for these next 6 weeks in Canada.

Fortunately, my flight to Canada was covered by the profit from 7 weeks in Asia. It was a relief, but I had no idea where the rest would come from especially for travel and food.

When I came up with the schedule for speaking at schools and churches in Lethbridge, Red Deer, Edmonton and Calgary, I had no idea how I’d travel to and within each city. There were too many unknowns and it was uncertain if anything would change. I asked a friend advise on how to send an email asking those in my mailing list to support my next project/mission. I sent out the email to cast the vision for this 4-6 week journey to Canada and gave them a breakdown of my expected budget. It was nerve-wracking.

Then it was like God opened up the windows of heaven. Well, not exactly, but He stood true to His word and the finances came flooding in. Every week someone sent me an email asking how they can help. Everywhere I went I was blessed, I received a few honorariums, travel was covered, meals were paid for, and I even had money to purchase media equipment that I needed. I’m so thankful for this experience and grateful for all the connections made, especially, for those that hosted me in their homes, churches, and schools.

I saw the most impact, when I spoke to youth that were under the age to come on 7 Weeks in Asia. I came to VABC because Pastor Al came to my church and talked about Victory Asia when I was 9 and again when I was 12 and I held onto that until the day I graduated high school. I see that they will hold onto what I said and make the decision to come in the future. We have potential recruits for the next 2-5 years because I spoke to people who were under the age.

I also ended up reconnecting with previous 7 Weekers, Josh and Austin, hearing from them how 7 Weeks impacted and changed their lives. This is what they said.

Josh - “7 Weeks in Asia, helped him identify who he wanted to be and know what he wanted to do in his life. As well as, helped him deal with communication and different personalities Austin - “Made my faith real. This experience helped me become confident in my calling. It strengthened me to deal with family issues.”

If this is how Austin and Josh were changed because of 7 Weeks, then this is also what happens when every other youth that comes on 7 Weeks in Asia will experience. Just imagine how many young lives have been and will continue to be changed.

When I think of the impact on these two lives, it pushes me to continue recruiting because I see their change in just 7 weeks. Now there are 7 youth that have have applied to come and more are interested. Imagine their lives after 7 Weeks in Asia, just like Austin and Josh’s lives were changed, so will theirs. “7 weeks to change you. 7 weeks to change Asia.”

That’s why I am so passionate about recruitment. Without it there would be no people and no youth to change and surrounding impact that they would make. I’ve witnessed this change happen and I will continue to do so through recruitment this summer personally, and online. Then during 7 Weeks, I will recruit some for VABC. I haven’t finished yet and I am committed to continue recruiting, influencing, directing, and deploying youth into the their destiny.

bottom of page